Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The classified growths of Provence

The greatest Rosés in the world are the Rosés of Provence. Liveliness, finesse, structure and aromatic clarity are the credos that have forged their reputation.

See more ...
Macallan M Decanter Black 2022 release

Macallan M Decanter Black 2022 release

Louis XV Brut Millésime 2012

Louis XV Brut Millésime 2012

Rémy Martin 1738 Accord Royal

Rémy Martin 1738 Accord Royal

Between the Mediterranean and the Alps stands a third marvel, of a viticultural nature this time, born from the fruit of man's work on nature: the vineyard of Provence. Established in the 6th century BC by the Phocaeans, Provence is the very first vineyard in the history of France.

Under the radiant sun of the south, sumptuous vineyards flourish, spread between Nice, Marseille and Saint-Rémy-de-Provence. A vineyard with exceptional climatic and geological characteristics, allowing many red and white grape varieties to flourish, each contributing to the elaboration of great wines and especially great wines Rosés.

Who has never succumbed to the charms of these delicate wines, with their incomparable freshness and fruitiness?

For it is an undeniable fact today: the greatest Rosés wines in the world are the Rosés of Provence. Liveliness, finesse, structure and aromatic clarity are the credos that have forged their reputation.

Discover the Crus Classés of Provence, reflecting the best this emblematic region has to offer.

The vineyards of the Provence occupy an area of nearly 29,000 hectares of vineyards in Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée for an annual production of 1,500,000 hectoliters of wine, divided between 88% of Rosés, 9% of red wines and 3% of white wines.

It is a very extensive vineyard that, therefore, knows important climatic nuances, maritime and continental, under the influence of a great sunshine. In addition, the Provence is marked by a great diversity of reliefs that, combined with this type of climate, allows the blossoming of a large number of grape varieties. For the production of great wines Rosés are particularly favored Grenache, Cinsaut, Carignan, Mourvèdre and Syrah, as well as indigenous varieties such as Tibouren.

Most of its production is concentrated on three appellations: Côtes-de-Provence, Côteaux-d'Aix-en-Provence and Côteaux-Varois.

The AOC Côtes-de-Provence is, however, the only one to have Classified Growths, 18 in total, and is made up of five major natural areas: the Sainte-Victoire Mountain, the Beausset basin, the limestone hills of the high country, the interior valley and the maritime border. It is particularly known for its wines Rosés, which represent nearly 92% of its production.

What is the history of Côtes-de-Provence?

Since its implantation since antiquity in the 6th century BC by the Phocaeans around the city of Marseille, the vine has developed and prospered harmoniously under the influence of the great monastic orders. The vineyard never stopped growing in surface and in notoriety, to the point that René I of Anjou, King of Naples (1435-1442) and of Sicily (1434-1480) imposed it at his Court, these wines also becoming very appreciated at the English Court.

In the 17th and 18th centuries, "the delicious wines of Provence" became very popular with the French Court. Then in the 19th century, the vineyard, known at the time as Côtes-de-Provence, was hit by phylloxera, which literally devastated it. Then in the 20th century, the vineyard was reconstituted after the two world wars, with a single watchword in all the appellations: quality.

The efforts of a few pioneers in the field of quality allowed the Côtes-de-Provence to obtain the appellation V.D.Q.S (superior quality wines) in 1951. The geographical area then includes 42 communes. The decree of October 24, 1977 brings the number of communes to 84 and classifies the Côtes-de-Provence in Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée.

What are the Crus Classés of Provence?

It is only in 1955 that a ministerial decree granted the denomination of "Cru Classé" to 23 Domaines of the Côtes-de-Provence, selected by a commission of experts among the 300 existing. In order to obtain this title, a study was carried out based on their terroir, their know-how and their reputation.

Five of them have now disappeared, and only 18 remain to bear this prestigious name: Château Minuty, Château Sainte Roseline, Domaine de la Source Sainte- Marguerite, Domaine de la Clapière, Domaine de l'Aumérade, Clos Cibonne, Domaine de Rimaurescq, Domaine de Castel Roubine, Château of Galoupet, Château de Saint-Martin, Château of Saint-Maur, Clos Mireille, Château of Selle, Château of Brégançon, Domaine of Mauvanne, Domaine of La Croix and Domaine of Le Noyer.

The grape varieties they grow for their great wines Rosés are Grenache, Syrah, Carignan, Mourvèdre, Tibouren, Cinsaut and Cabernet Sauvignon. These wines Rosés are rather pale in color, offering pleasant and subtle notes of red fruits and citrus fruits mixed with hints of flowers and spices.